A popular feature of digital Bibles is the option to compare translations.

The possibilities of various devices is different, and more functionality is being developed. This article describes the current capabilities. 


Android en iOS (iPad/iPhone)

At this point in time it is not possible to have two translations open at the same time. This item is on the "wish list". 


Mac

The Mac app normally shows one screen with a translation, but it is possible to open a second (and more) windows so that several translations are visible at the same time.  

By clicking with the right mouse button on a translation (or holding ctrl and clicking) a pop-up menu appears. The first option is "Open in a new window". The translation is opened next to the existing open window, so that the two can be compared.   


Windows

At present the Windows program has the most possibilities. Similar to the Mac it is possible to open an additional window with a second translation, but it is also possible to show two or more translations verse for verse, as interlineair, called the Parallel Version option. 


A second window  When opening a Bible there is the option "Open new Window". By selecting this option the verse will be opened in a new window so that the two windows can be seen simultaneously.  


Parallel versions in de Online Bible implies multiple translations under each other, ideal for comparing. 


In a screen with a translation, click the right mouse button to get the pop-up menu. Choose the option "Open/Close Parallel version". A second pop-up appears with the available translations. Choose one. 



If you have the feeling some translations you have are missing in the list, check the following article: Setting up the favourites


You should now be able to see each verse showing two translations. The name of the translation is shown.



This example shows two translations, but you can do this as often as you want to show more. It is a good way to compare translations. 


To go back to one translation, click the right mouse button again, select "Open/Close Parallel version" and remove the check mark against the relevant translations.